
 
2011-12 School Year Prospective Per Pupil Tuition Charges of the State-Supported Schools 

for Blind and Deaf Students (§4201 Schools) 
 

§4201 School Name 
2011-12 SY Prospective Per Pupil 

Tuition Charge* 
Cleary School for the Deaf $519.45 
Henry Viscardi School $319.68 
Lavelle School for the Blind $389.76 
Lexington School for the Deaf $298.69 
Mill Neck Manor School for Deaf $420.96 
New York Institute for Special Education $353.96 
New York School for the Deaf $399.93 
Rochester School for the Deaf $383.17 
St. Francis de Sales School for the Deaf $442.47 
St. Joseph’s School for the Deaf $394.99 
St. Mary’s School for the Deaf $454.65 
 
* Cost per student per care day. 
 
Questions should be emailed to Robert Lowry, Deputy Director of the New York State Council 
of School Superintendents, at boblowry@nyscoss.org.  He will compile the questions and send 
them to the New York State Education Department which will prepare responses and post them 
on its Office of P-12 Education website at http://www.p12.nysed.gov/. 
 
The following summary of the revised funding structure of the §4201 schools was posted on 
‘News and Notes’ in May 2011. 
 

Revised Funding Structure for the §4201 Schools 
In contrast to the current funding structure in which the State directly pays the State-supported 
schools for blind and deaf students (§4201 schools) for allowable costs, Chapter 58 of the laws of 
2011 amended sections 4204, 4204-a, 4204-b and 4207 of the Education Law to require school 
districts, beginning with the 2011-12 school year, to pay tuition for the ten-month school year 
based on a per pupil charge to the §4201 schools in the first instance.  The school district that is 
responsible for paying tuition is the student’s district of residence at the time the student is 
admitted to the §4201 school. The State will reimburse a school district for the positive 
difference between its tuition payments and basic contribution.  The State will reimburse a 
school district during the last quarter of the 2011-12 school year for tuition incurred through 
December 31, 2011 provided the school district submits a claim to the Department on or before 
June 1, 2012.  The State will continue to pay the §4201 school directly for their ten-month school 
year deaf infant program and maintenance (room and board) costs.  The State will also continue 
to pay the Dormitory Authority for the debt service costs of the §4201 schools.  The funding 
structure for the summer school special education programs of the §4201 schools remains the 
same. 
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